New industry and consumer reference group members welcomed

Solar Victoria welcomes six new members to its Industry and Consumer Reference Group (ICRG), aimed at building strong partnerships across the solar sector and enhancing the rollout of the Victorian Government’s $1.3 billion Solar Homes Program.  

Monday, 14 December 2020 at 10:16 pm
New ICRG members


Solar Victoria CEO Stan Krpan said the new and continuing business and industry representatives will provide ongoing advice to Solar Victoria on safety, standards and quality, consumer protection, technology requirements, product stewardship, future grid requirements, skills and workforce development.   

“Now in its second term, the Industry and Consumer Reference Group will help us adapt to changes in a fast-paced sector while staying on track to deliver cleaner, cheaper energy to Victorians.”   

Mr Krpan said it was essential that Solar Victoria understands issues affecting industry as its 10-year program delivers on rooftop solar systems, solar batteries and solar hot water systems to 778,500 Victorian households.   

“Solar Homes has been overwhelmingly popular with Victorians, with more than 111,000 PV solar panel, hot water and battery systems installed since it started. And to make the program even better, it’s so important we regularly seek and respond to industry and consumer feedback through the group,” Mr Krpan said.     

The ICRG includes small, medium and large solar businesses from Melbourne and regional Victoria, the Clean Energy Council, Smart Energy Council, Electrical Trades Union, Consumer Action Law Centre, Energy Networks Australia, and National Electrical and Communications Association. 

Newly appointed members of the second term ICRG are: 

  • Claire Cass, Energy Networks Australia 
  • Birender Grewal, Australian Solar and Energy Solutions  
  • Gareth Jennings, Rheem Australia 
  • Christine Kennedy, Total Solar Solutions Australia 
  • Steve Kostoff, Solar Training Centre 
  • Matt Wilson, Central Spark 

They join continuing members Kane Thornton, Clean Energy Council; John Grimes, Smart Energy Council; Danny Filazzola, Electrical Trades Union; Gerard Brody, Consumer Action Law Centre; Stephen Harty, CSR Bradford Energy; Bobbi McKibbin, Solar Integrity; Michael Weekes, National Electrical and Communications Association; and Sophie Wright, Velocity Solar.  

Ivor Frischknecht, former CEO of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency, is continuing as the ICRG’s independent chair.  

“It’s been terrific engaging with diverse views through the ICRG. Alongside others, I look forward to further improving the Solar Homes Program,” Mr Frischknecht said. 

“The ICRG and those it represents can feel confident that all voices are heard when policy and programs are being developed, with a Minister who listens and with Solar Victoria being responsive.” 

“We look forward to supporting more solar integration and better grid support from Distributed Energy Resources and, as always, maintaining our strong focus on safety and training.”  

Solar Victoria thanks outgoing members of the ICRG for their valuable contribution over the past term.  

Read about the ICRG.